This web site uses cookies to personalize content and to analyze traffic.

Monday, Exploring the Unesco World Heritage Sites in Ravenna, Italy

Ravenna, Italy
Monday, June 10, 2019
Ravenna was the capital of the Roman Empire in the 5th century and then of Byzantine Italy (the Eastern Roman Empire) until the 8th century. Eight of the historic buildings from that time period are designated as Unesco World Heritage Sites for their incredible, colorful mosaic depictions of early Christian themes.

The eight buildings are:
1. the Mausoleum of Galla Placidia
2. the Neonian Baptistery
3. the Basilica of Sant'Apollinare Nuovo
4. the Arian Baptistery,
5. the Archiepiscopal Chapel
6. the Mausoleum of Theodoric
7. the Church of San Vitale
8. the Basilica of Sant'Apollinare in Classe

For entry into the five larger sites, there is a combination ticket that costs 10€. Entry to the smaller sites costs a nominal amount of one or two euros.


Leave a Comment